Life Update Part 2

Posted: October 8, 2015 in Writing

In the earlier post, I talked about my work situation, specifically my difficulty in finding work. As you can imagine, this has left me with plenty of free time, so I guess I’ll talk about what I’ve done with my spare time, besides sending out job applications.

Writing

The #1 question I get asked by friends and family is this: “Have you done any writing?” “Have you written anything recently?” “When are you going to start writing again?”

This has been an immensely frustrating question for me; the truth is I haven’t written anything in a while. The last thing I wrote was the beginnings of a thriller novel for a writing seminar I took at my last semester in Taylor University; I haven’t finished it and have no intentions of doing so. If I’m going to be completely honest, there hasn’t been a single story I’ve written in the past several years that I was truly proud of and wanted to share. More often than not they were done at the last minute, were not very good ideas to begin with, and the execution of those ideas was awful. Furthermore, I haven’t been getting any good ideas at all, my inspiration has run dry. So, right now I have nothing to work with.

“But what about The Traveler novel?”

Yeah, I haven’t worked on that in a while either. If I’m going to be honest, I must admit that I don’t see the character working out in a novel. I know I’ve been encouraged to write a novel about him, but I don’t think it’s going to work out. I’ve reworked everything about The Traveler, the world he lives in, and the possible story I could tell about him over and over, but there’s nothing that’s ultimately satisfied me and made me think the story could work. I may write a few short stories about him, but for now I’m not going to write a novel about him. Maybe one day, but not now.

All is not lost, though. I’m planning on doing NaNoWriMo this year, and if I think I’ve written a decent story I’ll edit it and self-publish it to Smashwords. I’m also going to reread my writing books to see if I can get some inspiration. We’ll see what happens.

Fitness

I’ve been on a bit of a fitness kick for the pass few months. At first I started working out after I realized how fat I was (218 pounds) and I wanted to slim down my gut. However, I truly committed to having a healthy lifestyle after I started doing High Intensity Interval Training and realized just how weak and out of shape I was, especially with my upper body strength. I did a 30 Day HIIT program and it’s given me great results; at the end of the workout program I weighed just under 200 pounds, and it’s been a long time since I weighed that much. Now I’m doing my own HIIT workouts, and I’m hoping to burn as much fat as possible, get rid of my gut, and get stronger. We’ll see how that goes.

Other Things

I’ve hung out with friends and family, and I’ve been going to church regularly, which is nice. Haven’t read any books recently, as mentioned earlier I plan on correcting that in the coming days. I’ve watched some animes on Netflix, my brother got me hooked on Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood and I’ve watched several other animes since then.

So far though, there hasn’t been anything particularly exciting happening in my life that’s worth blogging about. I do plan on writing here regularly though, I just need to figure out what I’m going to talk about. My next blog post will describe my dilemma, and hopefully while I’m writing it I’ll stumble upon an answer.

-Scott

Leave a Reply

