Life Update Part 1

Posted: October 8, 2015 in Writing

I knew that it had been a long time since I’ve written a post for this blog. I did not realize, however, that it has been 264 days since I wrote my last post for scotthowardphillips.wordpress.com. Consistency has never been my strong suit, but I can change when needed. Who knows, maybe I’ll blog more consistently from now on. Considering my track record though, probably not.

This post is mainly for my friends in, and graduates of, Taylor University’s Professional Writing program, to share what has gone on in my life since I graduated college in May 2015. While I’ll always miss the friends I’ve made there, I looked forward to graduating college during my last semester. I was ready to move on, to get a job, a car, and my place to live. I was ready to have the money to be able to go out and adventure. Some in my generation complain of “adulting” but I wanted (and still want) to embrace adult life, with all of its complexities, difficulties, and opportunities.

I was hoping to have some sort of writing or editing related job soon after I graduated. Unfortunately, I seem to be stuck for the moment. I’ve sent application after application out, and all I’ve gotten for it was either silence or rejection. The only interview I got was for Chick-Fil-A (which I applied to recently out of frustration) but even they didn’t hire me; I was supposed to get a call back the day after, but I never did.

Granted, I’ve only sent out applications to places in my immediate vicinity; if I sent applications out to just anywhere, I might get better luck, but that brings troubles of its own. I don’t have the money needed to move anywhere, and I’d definitely need a car to get around (and I don’t have one now). So realistically, my only options are in the Philadelphia area.

You can imagine my increasing frustration, especially since student loan payments start at the end of November. However, things may change soon; my mom knows a person who knows a person who has worked with a certain company I applied for, and that connection might help me get the job. In my experience though, connections are worthless, they haven’t helped me one bit. The only exception I’d make to that principle is if you know the CEO of the company or whoever is in charge of hiring.

So that’s my job situation. There are lots more I want to talk about my life in the past few months, but most people nowadays consider this post to be long enough. So, I will end this post here and write more later today. Take care, everyone.

-Scott

Leave a Reply

